Do Not Be Afraid

Do not fear from their faces, for I am with you to deliver you. – Jeremiah 1:8

This is what I found the Hebrew to say when I looked it up a few years ago and wrote it on my travel coffee mug. (I’ve written a few variations, but it technically says “Do not fear from…”)

אַל־תִּירָ֖א מִפְּנֵיהֶ֑ם כִּֽי־אִתְּךָ֥ אֲנִ֛י לְהַצִּלֶ֖ךָ

When I was gone last night my husband put the mug in the dishwasher, which chipped away more at the already-needing-to-be-redone Hebrew and Greek that I’ve written on my mug. (I do not mind that one bit, but I’ll point out not wanting this one in there! This is my favorite use of nail polish, btw 😁.)

As I was refreshing this phrase, I was reminded of how encouraging this passage in Jeremiah is.

When God has called you, do not let characteristics such as youth (for Jeremiah) or sex (for women) discourage you!

Speak (or write) whatever God commands of you, and do not be afraid of their faces (in person or facebook photo 😉 ).


If God is for us, who can be against us? … It is God who justifies. Who is to condemn? It is Christ Jesus, who died, yes, who was raised, who is at the right hand of God, who intercedes for us. Who will separate us from the love of Christ? Will hardship or distress or persecution [or dismissal or neglect]? … No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us.

Romans 8:31-37

Be encouraged in this new year, friends! – ksl

Leave a comment